Xiayin Wang, Pianist
Xiayin Wang, Pianist

Mar 10, 2014

Xiayin Wang & Ray Wong Play World Premiere of Richard Danielpour’s The Celestial Circus

Pianist Xiayin Wang will be joined on stage by pianist Ray Wong and percussionists Lisa Pegher, Andrew Beall, and Joe Kelly for the World Premiere of Richard Danielpour’s The Celestial Circus, a suite in five movements for two pianos and percussions which is inspired by ancient mythological creatures from various cultures.

Artist Information:

An artist with a winning combination of superb musicianship, personal verve, and riveting technical brilliance, pianist Xiayin Wang conquers the hearts of audiences wherever she appears. As recitalist, chamber musician, and orchestral soloist in such venues as New York’s Carnegie Hall and Lincoln Center, she has already achieved a high level of recognition for her commanding performances.

In January 2014 Ms. Wang performed Rachmaninoff’s Second Piano Concerto with the National Gallery of Art Orchestra in Washington, D.C., and received high praise from The Washington Post: “Ms. Wang’s finger work was precise and strong… Her drive was unrelenting and her concentration intense. It was clear that she was in command and that Lande and the orchestra were to follow, which they did well…she was great to watch.”

Among the most honored composers of his generation, Richard Danielpour has written a wide range of orchestral, chamber, instrumental, ballet, and vocal works. He has been commissioned by a Who's Who of international musical institutions, festivals, and artists, and his music has been championed by Yo-Yo Ma, Jessye Norman, Dawn Upshaw, Emanuel Ax, Frederica von Stade, Thomas Hampson, Gary Graffman, the Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson Trio, the Guarneri, Emerson, and American String Quartets, and conductors Leonard Bernstein, Kurt Masur, Charles Dutoit, David Zinman, Zdenek Macal, and Leonard Slatkin.

Program Info:

Joseph Haydn: Piano Sonata No. 52 in E flat major

Serge Rachmaninoff: Piano Sonata No. 2 in B flat minor, Op. 36

~ Intermission ~

Richard Danielpour: The Celestial Circus

Maurice Ravel: La Valse arr. for two pianos