Erin Keefe
Lisa-Marie Mazzucco

Feb. 23, 5:00pm; Feb. 25, 7:30pm

Masterpieces for Eight



Ani Kavafian, Erin Keefe, Sean Lee, Alexander Sitkovetsky, violin; David Aaron Carpenter, Richard O’Neill, viola; Jakob Koranyi, Mihai Marica, cello; Kurt Muroki, double bass; Alexander Fiterstein, clarinet; Bram van Sambeek, bassoon; Radovan Vlatkovic, horn


Schubert Octet in F major for Winds and Strings, D. 803 (1824)

Mendelssohn Octet in E-flat major for Strings, Op. 20 (1825)

Mendelssohn’s brilliant octet exhibits the teenage composer’s youthful exuberance, while Schubert’s expansive work is both a nod to forms of the past and a showcase of his own unique style.