Franz Welser-Most, conductor
Stephanie Berger

Nov. 4 at 8:00

The Cleveland Orchestra


The Cleveland Orchestra

Franz Welser-Möst, conductor

Joela Jones, piano

Cynthia Millar, ondes martenot

Luba Orgonášová, soprano

Kelley O’Connor, mezzo-soprano

Herbert Lippert, tenor

Ruben Drole, bass-baritone

Cleveland Orchestra Chorus

Robert Porco, director


Beethoven: Grosse Fuge; Mass in C major

Messiaen: Trois petites liturgies de la Présence Divine

The “phenomenal” Cleveland Orchestra, under Music Director Franz Welser-Möst, creates a monumental program of musical revelation. Beethoven’s Mass in C major hints at the humanistic questioning that would shape his sacred repertory. Emerging from a place of devotion is Messiaen’s Trois petites liturgies de la Présence Divine, a meditation on the divine presence within and around us.

Sponsored by Bank of China.

This program is supported by the Leon Levy Fund for Symphonic Masters.

Symphonic Masters is made possible in part by endowment support from UBS.