Budapest Festival Orchestra

June 2 at 8:00

Budapest Festival Orchestra


Iván Fischer, conductor

Daniel Müller-Schott, cello


All-Dvořák Program

Slavonic Dance, Op. 72, No. 6

Cello Concerto

Legend No. 10

Symphony No. 9 (“From the New World”)

Mr. Müller-Schott performed the following encore: Ravel’s Pièce en forme de Habanera. The Budapest Festival Orchestra also performed an encore: Dvořák’s Moravian Duets, Op. 38, No. 4 (“Hoře”).

Young German cellist Daniel Müller-Schott, “a fearless player with technique to burn” (New York Times), joins Iván Fischer’s Budapest Festival Orchestra for Dvořák’s acclaimed Cello Concerto. The evening concludes with the “New World” Symphony, which was influenced by Native and African American sacred music.

This program is supported by the Leon Levy Fund for Symphonic Masters.

Symphonic Masters is made possible in part by endowment support from UBS.