Escher Quartet performing in the Rose Studio
Matthew Murphy

May 2, 2013 at 7:30 pm

Britten III: 'Dulce et decorum est' -Wilfred Owen

Tickets $40


Escher String Quartet (Adam Barnett-Hart, Aaron Boyd, violin; Pierre Lapointe, viola; Dane Johansen, cello)


Prokofiev: Quartet No. 2 in F major for Strings, Op. 92 (1941)

Shostakovich: Quartet No. 8 in C minor for Strings, Op. 110 (1960)

Ullmann: Quartet No. 3 for Strings, Op. 46 (1943)

Britten: Quartet No. 1 in D major for Strings, Op. 25 (1941)

This program features a selection of musical responses to the all-encompassing tragedy of WWII, composed during the horrors of the war and its aftermath.