Jerusalem Quartet
Felix Broede

Mar. 17, 2013 at 5:00 pm

Shostakovich Cycle I

Tickets from $35


Jerusalem Quartet (Alexander Pavlovsky, Sergei Bresler, violin; Ori Kam, viola; Kyril Zlotnikov, cello)


Shostakovich: Quartet No. 1 in C major for Strings, Op. 49 (1938)

Shostakovich: Quartet No. 5 in B-flat major for Strings, Op. 92 (1952)

Shostakovich: Quartet No. 6 in G major for Strings, Op. 101 (1956)

Shostakovich: Quartet No. 12 in D-flat major for Strings, Op. 133 (1968)

Composers have often turned to the string quartet as the vehicle for their most intimate utterances. Other than Beethoven, no composer has put so much of himself into his quartets as Dmitri Shostakovich. Written over the course of his career, Shostakovich’s 15 string quartets serve as both biography and reflections on life behind the iron curtain. Bringing a unique perspective and searing intensity, the fiery Jerusalem Quartet performs the complete cycle in four concerts.