Kiera Duffy
Steve Laxton

Nov. 18, 2012 at 5:00 pm

Night Music

Tickets from $35


Kiera Duffy, soprano; Alessio Bax, Gilbert Kalish, piano; Alexander Sitkovetsky, violin; Jakob Koranyi, cello


Mozart: Quartet in E-flat major for Piano, Violin, Viola, and Cello

Beethoven: Sonata No. 14 in C-sharp minor for Piano, Op. 27, No. 2, “Moonlight” (1801)

Mendelssohn: “Scherzo” from A Midsummer Night’s Dream for Piano, Four Hands, Op. 61 (1843)

Crumb: Apparition for Soprano and Amplified Piano (1979

Bloch: Three Nocturnes for Piano, Violin, and Cello (1924)

Beethoven: Trio in D major for Piano, Violin, and Cello, Op. 70, No. 1, “Ghost” (1808)

The subject of night has played a central role in musical creation since the Romantic era, inspiring hypnotic moods from dreamy to mysterious. Bookending this program dedicated to the magic of darkness are two works by Beethoven, the nocturnally evocative “Moonlight” Sonata, and the incredible “Ghost” Piano Trio, so named for the chilling slow movement at the center of the work.